When online goes old media

George Bancroft in "Scandal Sheet" (1931)


All of this week I’ve had internet connection issues at the space I’m using right across the US Courthouse here in Wilkes-Barre, Penn. It has nothing to do with the space itself. It’s a problem of my Clear key and the weak signal I’m getting there. The big problem is that I’m feeding a couple of sites that urged me to meet deadline. My solution: dashing out to street to phone in my updates. This makes me feel like one of those old school journos running to a phone booth to dictate their stories, because that’s exactly the case with me. Then, I cannot help thinking that telephone was for a long time the internet of its day; there was nothing more immediate than dialing to the newsroom. Now I have a question, though. What happened to those guys who waited for reporters to call in? If somebody knows, please let me know. Finally, many could say that journalism has come a long way, especially with the advent of the internet and mobile technologies, but it also remains the same especially when somebody turns the switch off.

About Gustavo Martínez Contreras

was born in Texas, brewed in Mexico City, seasoned in the Mexico-United States border, aged walking the streets of Philadelphia. He had a short-lived stint eating grits, fried chicken, and peaches in Atlanta. He later became a béisbol writer for El Diario de Nueva York. He has written about immigrant communities in English, Spanish, and some Spanglish. Although he does not have a shelf full of awards, Gustavo has received thank you notes and hugs from people who have trusted him with their stories. His work has appeared in Voices of New York, El Diario/La Prensa, Dallas’ Al Día, The Philadelphia Public School Notebook, Philadelphia Weekly, Radio Bilingüe, Latina Lista, Spot.us, among others. He is currently pursuing a master's degree at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

